Skip to Main Content

A Research Guide for Beginners

A Guide for New Students

Accessing Academic Databases

Our online databases can be an effective place to begin your research. Databases can be listed by title or by subject. You can access the databases by:  

Step One:

Go to the library website

Step Two:

Scroll down until you see the purple tabs and select either:

  1. Databases by Subject groups the databases into subject categories. If you are starting a research project in your field, and do not necessarily have a particular database in mind, this is a good choice.
  2. Databases by Title shows all of our databases in alphabetical order. If you know the name of the database you want, this is a good place to start.

Step Three:

When you locate the database you wish to access, click on the link (the bolded name of the database). 

If you are on campus this link should bring you directly to the database.

If you are off-campus a new page should open, asking for your CTX email.

 

Publications Finder

The Publication Finder is another useful tool. If you find something in Jumpstart that is citation only or if accessing a resource requires money, then check the Publication Finder to see if Concordia has access to it. You can find the tab on the library website next to the database tabs. 

All materials copyright Concordia University Texas. Written permission to publish or display reproductions of materials held by Concordia University Texas must be secured from Concordia as owner of the physical property. For more information, please contact library@concordia.edu.