CTX Library Recommended Websites

• ACRL's Pandemic Resources for Academic Libraries LibGuide: updated information, free professional development, open access publications, and other resources to support academic and research library personnel during a pandemic. The guide includes resources for distance education and engagement, free webcasts and publications, best practices, information on self-care and working from home, up-to-date information from public health officials, and collections of ALA and community-sourced resources to assist in navigating a pandemic.
• ALA Pandemic Preparedness page for additional resources on COVID-19
• Capstone Interactive: For our Education majors, parents, etc. Access to audio/interactive e-Books for K-12 students.
• Copyright for Campus Closures: Exploring the Copyright Issues around Moving Instruction and Reference Online
• COVID-19 Projections: (IHME) Data and projections for the U.S. and individual states.
• Expanded access to resources from Publishers & Platforms (SCELC/ICOLC): An ever-growing list of COVID19 complimentary expanded access from a variety of publishers and vendors. PLEASE NOTE: Access varies among the providers, some require the individual to register for access, and other conditions may apply. Please read the conditions provided for each platform.
• Information Literacy Instruction at a (Social) Distance: Strategies for Moving Online
• JSTOR: In addition to our normal JStor offerings of Arts Sciences I, II, III collections, and Health General Sciences collection, our patrons will have access to additional journals and e-Books through June 30th. Users simply have to use Concordia Library's JSTOR link and the available expanded content will be reflected in the search results.
• Junior Library Guild: For our Education majors, parents, etc. Free activities, e-books and resources to keep K-12 students engaged during this new-normal of school closures and social distancing.
• National Emergency Library, a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
• Osmosis: Medical learning platform for clinicians and caregivers. Please Note: User will have to accept a pledge to fight the spread of COVID-19, and also to register by email.
• The Royal Society: Relevant and current COVID-19 research Also, for a limited time, there will be access to additional content for researchers: https://royalsociety.org/journals/#listing
• WaiFi: WiFi, Hotspots finder

• Digital Commons Network - Dates vary. Free, open access, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
• Directory of Open Access Journals - (Lund University Libraries) Dates vary. Free open access, full-text scientific and scholarly journals.
• HathiTrust Digital Library - A Partnership of academic research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles (many full-text) digitized from libraries around the world. A great resource for primary sources. Some titles/collections are limited.
• Worldcat - Searchable catalog of books in public and academic libraries across the country.

• Cities Buildings Database - Digitized images of buildings and cities from all over the world.
• Design Addict - "The portal for modern and post-modern design."
• Jack S. Blanton Museum of Art - Preview the Blanton's art collection online.
• The National Gallery of Art - Tour the NGA's extensive art collection online.
• The National Museum of Women in the Arts - See the NMWA collection online.
• SmARThistory - An excellent site containing art history timelines, color reproductions and videos.

• Ad Council - Explore the ad campaigns of the leading producer of public service announcements (PSAs).
• Business and Human Rights Resource Centre - Provides coverage of practices of four thousand businesses.
• Consumer Price Index - Data on the prices paid for consumer goods and services in the U.S.
• Library of Economics and Liberty - Provides articles on economics and an economic encyclopedia.
• National Retail Federation - Scores of retail-related data are available for free on this site.
• Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) - Government data on career prospects in the U.S.
• SEC Filings Forms (EDGAR) - Official financial filings of all companies operating within the U.S.
• U.S. Small Business Administration - Addresses issues unique to the small business environment.
• World Bank Group - Financial information for and about the world's developing nations.

• Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature - Searchable reading list of award-winning children's literature.
• Discovery Education Classroom Resources - Offers a Lesson Plan Library, a Curriculum Center, and more!
• Edutopia - Comprehensive website online community that increases knowledge, sharing, adoption of what works in K-12 education. Founded by filmmaker George Lucas.
• Merlot - Collection of peer-reviewed, higher education, online learning materials.
• National Center for Education Statistics - Federally collected data related to education.
• NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations - Online collection of theses and dissertations.
• Texas Education Agency - Learn more about STAAR tests and AEIS reports.

• UT Austin's Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - a general collection of 70,000 map images from around the world.
• CIA World Fact Book - Provides detailed information on countries around the world.
• Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names - Locates geographic places and states official names.
• Google Earth - 3D representation of earth based on satellite imagery.
• Google Maps Gallery - Interactive digital maps from a variety of businesses, governments, nonprofit organizations, such as National Geographic, World Bank Group the US Geological Survey.
• MultiMap - Offers maps from around the world.
• NationMaster - Graphically compare other nations using data from CIA World Factbook, UN and OECD.
• National Map - Offers thousands of diverse maps about North America.
• Worldmapper - Includes world maps in various categories, including population and birth rate.

• Agency for Toxic Substances Disease Registry - Disseminates federal public health data.
• Flu.org - Government site with information on the flu (seasonal and H1N1).
• Food Safety - Government site that offers fact sheets on food safety and federal regulations.
• Global Health Facts - Provides in-depth health statistics for hundreds of countries around the world.
• Healthfinder.gov - Key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services.
• Mayo Clinic - Authoritative and current health information from Mayo Clinic physicians.
• The Merck Manual Online Medical Library - Online version of Merck's series of healthcare books.
• My Food Record - Analyze the nutrient content of food quickly with this online database.
• National Center for Health Statistics - Statistics on birth, death, and general health in the U.S.
• NetWellness - Over 55,000 pages of information on health topics from three major universities.

Nursing

• AllNurses - A nursing discussion board, where nurses and nursing students can discuss relevant topics. Also contains links to blogs, articles, and websites.
• Nursing World - Website for the American Nurses Association. Presents information about the profession, including ethical standards and policies.

Ancient/Classical History

• Digital Roman Forum - Explore detailed digital reconstructions of the Forum Romanum.
• The Giza Archives Project - Comprehensive online resource for scholarly research on ancient Egypt.
• The Perseus Digital Library - Digital library of ancient primary texts.

Texas History

• Concordia University Texas Archival Collection: Digital Resources - Library Guide providing additional information about Concordia's online archival holdings.
• Crossing Jordan - Crossing Jordan (2009) chronicles the history of what is now Concordia University Texas. It details its origins as a Lutheran boys school in 1926 to a co-educational university within the context of the final academic year (2008) at the campus' original location in central Austin. The documentary contains primary source photographs & interviews with current students, alumni, staff & faculty. [Please use the Chrome browser for best results]
• Handbook of Texas - Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.
• Portal to Texas History: Concordia University - Gateway to Texas history materials, plus historical photographs of Concordia University.
• Resources 4 Educators - Portal from UNT containing documents from Texas history.
• Texas Almanac - Includes information about Texas history, culture, religion and townships.
• Texas Beyond History - Archaeological and historical research on the cultural heritage of Texas.
• Texas Heritage Portal - Access to Texas' historical documents and images.

U.S. History

• African-American Odyssey - Historical documents on the African-American experience.
• American Memory - Amazing site from the Library of Congress, many primary documents
• The American Presidency Project - One of the most comprehensive sites dedicated to the presidency.
• BlackPast.org - Provides primary and secondary materials on six centuries of African American history
• Charters of Freedom - Digital images of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
• Colonial Williamsburg - Interactive exhibits from the largest living history museum.
• Discovering American Women's History Online - Database providing primary resources about US women's history.
• Documenting the American South - Digital collection of primary and secondary sources regarding southern history.
• Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History - Transcripts of interviews with American Indians from 1967-1972.
• Footnote - "The place for original documents online." National Archives materials on the web.
• France in America - Books, maps, and prints describing French influence in North America.
• Immigration to the United States, 1789 - 1930 - Books photographs from Harvard libraries' archives.
• Library of Congress Flickr Project - Collection of historical photographs including color images from the 1930s-40s.
• Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Reading Room - 13.7 million images of U.S. life.
• The Living Room Candidate - A collection of presidential campaign commercials, 1952-present.
• Making of America - Full-text primary sources, including "War of the Rebellion."
• Pictures of the Civil War - Activities, places, and portraits of the Civil War.
• The Presidential Timeline - Access part of the collections of 12 presidential libraries across the U.S.
• Voting America: United States Politics 1840 - 2008 - Animated maps of American political history.
• The Warren Commission Report - Full-text report regarding the assassination of JFK.

World General History

• FamilySearch - Largest genealogy organization in the world. Non-profit, free but must register.
• Feminine: Medieval Women and Gender Index - Women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
• H-World: A network for practitioners of world history - Provides a review of e-materials for research and teaching.
• World History Matters - Scholarly articles and primary documents on world history.

• BBC News - World news from the BBC.
• The Center for Public Integrity - Non-profit dedicated to producing responsible investigative journalism.
• Journalism.org - Offers journalism resources, state of the news briefings and daily headlines.
• Newseum - Includes hundreds of full-color front pages from around the world and links to newspaper sites.

• The Academy of American Poets - Essays, interviews, poems and audio clips of poetry.
• Academy Awards Database - Past winners, nominees and statistics on award categories.
• All movie - Searchable synopses, biographies, reviews and more.
• Bibliomania - Full-text classics and study guides.
• The Camelot Project - Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies and basic information.
• The Internet Archive - Provides media coverage, online texts, an archive of moving images, and more.
• The Internet Movie Database (IMDB) - Plot outlines, cast overviews, trivia and quotes.
• Library of Southern Literature - Primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history.
• The Online Books Page - Links to over 25,000 free online books.
• The Paris Review - Contains some free features, such as interviews and commentary of great authors.
• The Poetry Foundation - Free, open-source, poetry, poet bios, educational material, and an informative genre guide. Indexing tools and TOC access for Poetry magazine.
• Project Gutenberg - First and largest collection of free ebooks.
• Rotten Tomatoes - News and expert user reviews on movies and TV.
• Treasures in Full - Full-text of rare historic works from the British Library.
• The William Blake Archive - Digitized illuminated books blur the boundaries of art and literature.

• American Mathematical Society - Biographies, guides, and reviews of all things mathematical.
• Biographies of Women Mathematicians - Illustrates the achievements of women in mathematics.
• Explore Learning - Offers a catalog of modular, interactive math simulations called "Gizmos."
• MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive - Features bios of mathematicians and "famous curves."
• The Math Forum - Resource for teachers, students & parents looking for web sites across the Internet on math topics/tutorials.
• Math Vids - Free video math tutorials.
• Number Theory Web - Number theory routines, links to number theory centers and individuals.
• Unsolved Problems - Features some well-known unsolved mathematics problems to puzzle over.
• WolframAlpha - A "computational knowledge engine" that provides answers to mathematical and statistical queries.

• All music - Searchable biographies, discographies. music samples, reviews and more.
• Bodleian Library Broadside Ballads - Over 30,000 ballads from the 16th - 20th centuries.
• Digital Mozart Edition - Entire catalog of Mozart's compositions plus critical commentary.
• IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project)/Petrucci Music Library - A large collection of free sheet music from the public domain.
• The Organ Site - Images and history of 2,315 organs worldwide.
• The Pipe Organ - Extensive information about the pipe organ. Contains a glossary of organ terms.

• Internet Broadway Database - Offers information on historical and current New York theater productions.
• Performing Arts Databases - A list of searchable databases provided by the Library of Congress.

• Argument Mapping Tutorials - Learn how to successfully map your arguments!
• Ethics Updates - Reports on current professional and popular literature on ethics.
• Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Encyclopedia and guide to philosophy, created by philosophy professors.
• Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Entries written and updated by experts in the field of philosophy.

• AllPsych Online - Provides links to hundreds of cross-referenced psychology sites.
• American Psychological Association - Recent news, glossary of terms, how to use APA citation style.
• National Institute of Mental Health - Federal agency for research on mental and behavioral disorders.

• The Association of Religion Data Archives - Statistics and reports on international religious belief.
• BibleGateway - Read and research scripture online in the translation of your choice.
• The Catholic Encyclopedia - 1917 edition - a historical perspective on the teachings of the Catholic Church.
• Christian Classics Ethereal Library - Digital library of hundreds of Classic Christian texts.
• Encyclopedia Mythica - Articles on the mythology, folklore and religion of world societies.
• Index of Saints - Extensive list of saints and angels of the Catholic Church.
• Project Wittenberg - Works by and about Martin Luther and the Lutheran Church.
• Wabash Center - Guide to Internet sources on major world religions.

General Resources

• Highwire Press - Largest repository of free, full-text, peer-reviewed content hosted by Stanford.
• Science Direct- The most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet.
• Skeptic.com - Scientific society dedicated to investigating controversial claims.
• U.S. Geological Survey - Offers data on biology, geography, geology by state or at the national level.

Astronomy, Geology, Physical Science

• Einstein Light - "The finer points of relativity in less time than it takes to eat an sandwich."
• HubbleSite - Official site of the Hubble telescope features amazing images taken from deep space.
• Mineralogy Database - Images and descriptions of 4,442 individual mineral species.
• National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration - Government data on the seas and skies.
• National Geophysical Data Center - Provides geophysical data from the universe to Earth itself.

Biology, Environmental Science

• Alternative Fuels Data Center - Studies on biodiesel, ethanol, hydrogen, natural gas, and propane.
• Biotechnology Industry Organization - Largest organization representing biotechnology interests.
• Edwards Aquifer - Collection of images and essays on this unique groundwater system.
• Encyclopedia of Earth - Peer-reviewed, online reference articles about the Earth and its environment.
• Encyclopedia of Life - Scientific information about the species of the Earth.
• Environmental Protection Agency - Environmental science, research, and education efforts.
• Primate Info Net - Provides original content and links to resources about nonhuman primates.
• National Agriculture Library - Government info on livestock, crops, research and technology.
• Scitable - Free science articles, currently focusing on genetics; registration is required.
• Texas Commission on Environmental Quality - Data on air quality, water and waste management.
• Water Resources of the United States - Maps, data, and analysis of the nation's water systems.

• ProCon.org - Website that explores the pros and cons of various controversial social issues.

• SHAPE (Society of Health and Physical Educators)- News and job postings.
• ESPN SportsCentury - Overview of outstanding athletes and achievements in sports in the 1900s.
• Exploratorium: Sport Science - Discover the science behind your favorite sports!
• Historic Baseball Resources - Biographies, photographs, and historic video from the Library of Congress.
• Sports Reference - Statistics for baseball, football, basketball, and hockey.

• Bureau of Labor Statistics: Economy at a Glance - Provides statistics on the U.S. economy.
• CensusScope - Easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends based on the 2000 census.
• Federal Judicial Center - Federal judicial history, biographies of federal judges, and education programs.
• Gov Track - Provides extensive information on the recent work of Congress.
• Internal Revenue Service - Information about filing taxes, including forms and e-filing.
• Open Secrets - Tracks industry donations to politicians and political parties.
• Supreme Court Collection - Searchable archive of Supreme Court Decisions.
• The White House - Official site of the executive branch of the U.S. government.
• U.S. Census Bureau - Authoritative site for statistical information about the U.S.
• U.S. Department of the Treasury - Official site of the Department of the Treasury.
• U.S. House of Representatives - Examine voting records, track bills, and view summaries of debate.
• U.S. Senate - Preview floor and session schedules and learn who's who in Congress.
• USASpending.gov - Searchable site providing data on federal government spending.